Meet the Admission Team

Samantha Hughes
Director of Enrollment

A picture of Samantha Hughes, Director of Enrollment

Samantha is Director of Enrollment and the primary contact for Stuart Hall admission. She joined the Admission team after several years as the Associate Director of Admissions for Mary Baldwin University. Samantha has a wealth of knowledge in independent school and collegiate admissions, including recruitment, new program marketing, student evaluation, student assessment, and international admissions counseling. A native of Augusta County, she holds a degree in political science from Mary Baldwin University. Samantha has two daughters at Stuart Hall. 

Randal brown
Director of domestic boarding enrollment

Randal Brown is the Director of Domestic Boarding Enrollment working with American families seeking 5 day or full residential placement with Stuart Hall. Randal's affiliation with Stuart Hall began in 2019. Brown is a long-time independent school professional and alumnus with over 25 years experience in boarding and day schools. Early in his career he taught history, coached outdoor activities, and was dormitory staff. For over a decade he has worked in school external affairs (admissions, marketing, and fundraising) including six years as a head of school. Randal is passionate about understanding a family's needs and ensuring a great match with Stuart Hall. As the graduate of a small boarding school, Webb School in Tennessee, he has insights into how these schools meet the needs of learners. Randal is a graduate of Rhodes College in Memphis (BA) and earned an M.Ed from Vanderbilt University. He is a native of Nashville. In addition to his school career Brown spent twenty-three years as an officer in the Army National Guard retiring as a Lieutenant Colonel. He is a decorated Iraq veteran. Randal's three children are all independent school graduates. 

Tanya Farrell
Director of Communications

Picture of Tanya Farrell, Director of Communications

Tanya is the Director of Communications for Stuart Hall, providing support to Samantha for recruitment and marketing. She has two decades of experience in communications, with expertise in media and community relations, publication development, financial and donor relations, and event management. Tanya joined the Admission team in 2013 but has been a member of the Stuart Hall community since 2009 when her older son, Charlie '22, entered Kindergarten at the Lower School. Her younger son, Henry '25, is also a Stuart Hall student. While her career has taken her from New York City to San Francisco, she has proudly called Staunton home for the past 14 years. Tanya holds a B.A. in Communications from Xavier University.

Cary Dahl
associate director of enrollment

Picture of Parent and Admission Employee Cary Dahl

Cary is the mother of three Stuart Hall students/alum and was chair of the Admissions and Marketing committee on the Board of Governors prior to taking her position. She has a Masters Degree in Economics from NYU, worked as an economic analyst in the Corporate Planning Department of Exxon International, and ran her own insurance and financial planning business. Most recently, Cary has been Board Chair at the Community Foundation, EVACE International, and several church committees.